‘True Detective’ will return for a third season in 2019


HBO executives announced this week that Nic Pizzolatto’s crime anthology series “True Detective” will return for a third season in 2019.

“We couldn’t have it ready for ‘18 so you can assume ‘19,” HBO programming president Casey Bloys told Entertainment Weekly.

“I think [the scripts are] fantastic. I’m excited. I think people are going to be very happy.”

Pizzolatto’s third installment will follow Arkansas State Police investigators Wayne Hays (Mahershala Ali) and Roland West (Stephen Dorff) who, as described by HBO, try to solve a “macabre crime… and a mystery that deepens over decades and plays out in three separate time periods.”

“True Detective” originally debuted on January 12, 2014. Season one focused on the dynamic between Rustin Cohle (Matthew McConaughey) and Martin Hart (Woody Harrelson) and their nearly 20-year quest to capture an elusive serial killer in rural Louisiana. The series, which won five Emmy Awards, received critical acclaim and commercial success.

In stark contrast to Pizzolatto’s initial story, the second season of “True Detective” was met with mixed reviews. The show revolved around the intertwining lives of career criminal Frank Seymon (Vince Vaughn) and Ventura County, California-based law enforcement officials Ray Velcoro (Colin Farrell), Ani Bezzerides (Rachel McAdams) and Paul Woodrugh (Taylor Kitsch) as they hunt for the killer of corrupt city manager Ben Caspere.

Pizzolatto, who reportedly wrote all scripts for the upcoming drama, is clearly seeking to replicate season one’s format by using alternating timelines and nonlinear subplots. Moreover, Hays’ relationship with West seems destined to evoke memories of Cohle’s partnership with Hart and their conversations regarding religion and philosophy. Perhaps most importantly, by minimizing the amount of lead characters, storylines should be crisper and allow viewers to become invested in the welfare of Hays and West. Like its predecessors, Pizzolatto‘s twisted, gritty world will comprise eight episodes.